#VegasStrong

Words are hard to come by after what happened here in Las Vegas on Sunday. But I’ll start off with a simple we’re safe. Hubby and I were at home safe and sound Sunday night. His youngest daughter was staying with us that night too. She had been staying down on the Strip for a few days before that. She was with us to visit with her dad before flying home to Hawaii on Monday. We are so thankful she was here with us and on the Strip.

I watched things unfold on TV that night in shock. This is MY city! How could this be happening HERE? I was still in shock Monday.

In the aftermath of this horrific event, my city has come together to support those involved and those of us that, while not directly affected by it, still feel most of the same emotions. Shortly after this started, the citizens of Las Vegas were lining up to donate blood all over the valley, sometimes waiting over 12 hrs to give. Water and food was being delivered by regular people to our first responders and anyone that need care. Restaurants, hotels, airlines, the cab companies, Lyft are all offering services to people needing them. THIS is what makes America great! Our caring for each other. Now we just need to make that caring an everyday thing, not just something that we rise up to be in times of shocking events. I’m so proud to be a member of the Las Vegas community. And to the brave members of the police, the fire departments, ambulance crews, and other EMS. THANK YOU! You guys ROCK!

I had all these feelings inside of me, a jumble of words that I felt needed to be put in order. Finally, yesterday afternoon I mix those words with what I was feeling and posted them to my Facebook. This is what I said:

We have been through this before, someone starts shooting, people die, the news organizations run with 24 hour coverage. Collectively, we as a nation grieve and send our thoughts and prayers to the victims and their families. We use hash tags to show our support for communities affected by heinous violence.

But after last night, watching it happen in MY town, I understand that I really had no idea just how these acts of violence affect those living it.

I wasn’t at the concert last night. I don’t know if anyone I know was. I can’t imagine how those that were there or their families feel. But I do know how I feel right now. Anxious, shocked, afraid, helpless, confused.

I truly feel I now know how the people of those other communities felt.

I hope, with all my heart, that no one has to go through what my city of Las Vegas is going through right now.

I hope… but I expect this will happen again and again until we find a solution to the gun issues.

#LasVegasStrong #PrayforVegas

 

 

