So Yeah, It Happened To Me

Yeah it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything here or on my author’s page. July started out good, but ended in fear and chaos. The chaos was when there was a surprise layoff at my work.  Or should I say my former work. Yep, I was laid off, cut, kicked to the curb. After 16 years, let go. I can’t talk about the details but I feel like I’ve lost family and friends.

So where do I go from here? Well, I’m working with a company to polish up both my resume and me personally. I’ve one meeting so far and it gives me hope. Once I get my resume back, I’ll start flooding the local market looking for a job. In the meantime I’m working on my writing and being a stay at home wife.

I also looked at just flat out retiring now. I’m 62 and half so I could do it now, but I’d lose a good chunk of change between pulling it now and waiting 3 and half years. I decide to stick it out for now and wait for now.

Financially I’m OK with paying bills and such for a 5-6 months. As long as I don’t do any needless spending. It does mean that until I get back to work I can’t do much with outside writer stuff (editing, book covers, etc)  so I’ll do a few round of editing on my own and move on to my next book. I’ll do a WIP post after this.

But I’m OK. And I will be OK. I’m strong and have a good support system. My hubby is supporting me and I’m so thankful for that. It cause less stress. Oh and I can now play the lottery!

But hey… if anyone out there in the Vegas area has a job lead, hit me up!

2 thoughts on “So Yeah, It Happened To Me

  1. Oh my gosh, what a crazy thing to suddenly be laid off like that. So sorry that happened to you. *big hugs* Work on your writing! I’m seeing those covers scroll by in the WIP Word Counts on your blog here and, OMG, those are some great covers! Tarkir and Viper stand out for me, lol. That Taylor cover looks good too. And Demon and Viper? OK, those are hot covers. Kai and Kekipii looks good too. Get those written and released! Seriously, all those covers intrigue me and make me want to read those stories now. Looking fabulous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

