And It’s A Wrap!

I’m thrilled to say that the first draft of my second book is done! Yes, I finished it yesterday after a week of struggling with where it was going. I just felt I had gotten off track with this story and wasn’t happy with the last few chapters. But after a chat with my BFF (I’m talking about you, Calen!) I’ve found my way back to loving it. I did cut a little over two and half chapters from the end of the book but I think it makes for a better ending.

I’m going to post something from the last chapter, than I’m stepping away from Taylor- Paranormal Operations, Inc. for a week or so, clear my head, and then start the first round of edits. In the mean time, I’ll jump on one of the other wips I have started. Also I’m getting some requests for the next Mistletoe, North Pole story (Sig and Holly’s story).

 

Devon leaned on the balcony railing a pair of sweat pants hung low on his hips, and watched as the sun rose over the snowcapped summit of Mt. Hood. The sun’s rays transformed the snow into a million sparkling crystals. He smiled as he brought a steaming mug to his lips, sipping cautiously at the hot, rich coffee. This was his favorite time of the day, when the air was cool and crisp, and Portland was just beginning to wake up. He lifted his mug again but paused midway to his mouth.

No, he mused, my favorite time of the day is when I slip into bed next to Taylor and pull her tightly into my arms. He smiled as he took a second sip of his coffee and his body began to harden at the remembered sensation of her body spooned into his. Yeah, thats it, thats my favorite time. A slight frown crossed his face, Of course when he woke up each morning and she was cuddled up to him was a pretty spectacular time as well. Or when they were fresh out of the shower and her body glistened wetly

“Hey, sweetheart,” A soft voice pulled him out of his reflections. “Why the frown?” Warm arms reached around his waist just above the waistband of his sweats. He’d been so lost in his thoughts that he hadn’t heard the sliding glass door open. Not good for a trained agent like him.

Devon looked  over his shoulder at his beautiful mate and grinned. They had been back in Portland for nearly six months now and he had no regrets about making the move half way across the globe to be with this woman.

There were elements of Portland that reminded him of Ireland, the green all around them and the rain. And in the time they been back, Taylor’s condo had become their home. He’d been a little surprised at how quick they had grown accustomed to each other’s living habits.

Even working for Axel Jackson was good… now. There had been some hostility at first between the two men until Taylor had set them both straight one night at Axel’s bar. She’d lost her temper when he’d thought Axel was getting a little too friendly with her. Now he knew that the big shifter was like a brother to her.

“I was just deciding what time of day is my favorite.” He responded. Taylor moved in front of him, her arms still encircling him and peered up with a puzzled expression on her face. He set his mug down on the railing and wrapped his brawny arms around her, pulling her close.

“Umm… favorite time of day?” The same puzzlement in her face was in voice.

“Yeah, you know, like when the sun breaks over the mountain,” He glanced over her head, to the glittering peak. “Or when I slip into bed each night with you…” He trailed off as Taylor chuckled.

“Ahh…I see,” She grinned up at him. “And what time did you decide on?” she asked with a slight tilt of her head. He was quiet for a moment than bent his head and kissed her tenderly, his tongue running over the seam of her lips until she opened them. She moaned as he deepened the kiss, his tongue caressing hers. After what seemed like forever, he raised his head and whispered his answer against her kiss swollen lips.

“Anytime that I’m with you, baby.”

“Smart man.”

Devon lifted his head and laughed at her sassy come back. His laughter died off as the opening bars of Sweet’s Bar Room Blitz came from inside of the condo. Taylor sighed and stepped back as he released her.

“Are you ready to get back to work, sweetheart?” She questioned.

“No,” Devon replied in a low voice as she snagged his hand and led him inside. “I prefer to take you back to bed and never come out.” He watched her pickup her cell and swipe to unlock the screen.

“Hi, Axel.” She answered with wistful glance at her mate. “What’s up?” She paused. “A job?” Devon raised one eyebrow. “Yeah, ok, we’ll be there in about an hour.”

“So, going back to bed is out of the question?” Devon asked Taylor as she hung up. She gave him a seductive look and reached out for the string of his sweats. He groaned at the fire in her eyes.

“That depends on now quick you are, Mr. Brady.”

 

 

One thought on “And It’s A Wrap!

Leave a Reply

