Tossed Aside

I gave my heart into your hands with all the love I had
You took from me all the love I had to give to you.
We held each other close within loving arms
In the warmth of your arms I felt golden peace.
In the sweetness of your words I believed

You tore my heart apart
Threw away what we had
Tossed aside what we shared
Before we really knew what we had.

You told me things in the night that I thought were true
Then you left me one night and never came back.
You told me that you didn’t think it would work.
You never gave us a chance to see if it would
And in your words my world collapsed.

You tore my heart apart
Threw away what we had
Tossed aside what we shared
Before we really knew what we had.

And now I’m left in pieces with my bleeding heart
Trying to understand what happened to the love
That I felt was there within the hearts of both of us.
Someday in the future we may come together again
I hope and pray it’s not to late for us to love again.

Leave a Reply

