Rocky Shores

Standing on the rocky shore of life
Watching and waiting breathlessly
For the tide of emotions to sweep
Me away back to when I would
Willing drown in my feelings for you.

Standing on the rocky shore knowing
The pain I willing opened myself up for
Yet unable to move back to safety
Afraid of not knowing one last time
The feel of you holding me so close.

Standing on the rocky shore feelings
Rushing over me pulling me deep into
A sea of swirling emotions I thought
Gone cutting the ground from under me
Threatening to overwhelm me and drown me.

Standing on the rocky shore waiting quietly
Arms ready to pull me back from the abyss
Reaching out to enfold me and hold me
Bring me back to the safety of strong arms
And the shelter of his warm caring heart.

Standing on the rocky shore safely held
Feeling the tide of emotions receding
Knowing that tide will return again to
Sweep over me but safe I’ll be held within
My lover’s strong and caring arms always.

Leave a Reply

