Illusions

With sweet words you lured me to you,
Words of love deep and never-ending.
A mental picture of a life spent together,
Nothing but an illusion in my mind.

With loving words did we build a love.
Words that had no true meaning in life.
Words that rang true but were false,
Nothing but illusions in my mind.

And with the meeting of our realities
Words of that lasting love mean nothing.
The you I thought I knew is not true
Nothing but an illusion in my mind.

False love hurts as deep as true love
Wounds cause by being used by you.
True love is there for me or is it just
Nothing but an illusion in my mind?

Leave a Reply

